Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts: A Product Review (2022)

Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts: A Product Review (1)

The following is a product review of my use of Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts, specifically Model CF 440.

Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts with “Footmapping Technology” have been on the market for a few years now. The inserts come in 14 models (all starting with the letters “CF” presumably meaning “Custom Fit”): 110, 120, 130, 210, 220, 230, 310, 320, 330, 340, 410, 420, 430, and 440. They range between $44 and $50.

The insert pairs are nicely packaged in a hard plastic container allowing consumers the ability to feel the inserts. They are constructed with four layers: the top layer, according to the packaging, is a “soft, microfiber”; the second layer provides cushioning for the heel. The final two layers are the important parts of the inserts and are called the Cradleflex Arch Support System. The inserts are sized at ¾ foot length and require no trimming.

Dr. Scholl's has given the inserts a lifespan of six months. The product also comes with a “100% satisfaction guaranteed or your money back” promise.

Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts: A Product Review (2)

The real feature of the product is its computerized, in-store kiosk. The kiosk measures the foot arch, pressure points, and foot length. Consumers must use the system to determine the ideal insert model for their feet, thus receiving a customized fitting.

Here’s how it works: Shoppers are to remove their shoes and stand in the outlined foot spaces on the kiosk. Beneath the platform are 2,200 sensors that “map” the feet based on pressure points.

The kiosk test takes only two measurements that require less than two minutes total. The first measurement assesses foot pressure in a standing position. The consumer is asked to stand still and then lean forward using two balancing handles to move a yellow circle on the screen into a green target. Thus the first measurement is completed.

The second measurement assesses foot pressure in a walking position for each foot. Consumers are led through a process in which they are asked to stand on each foot while lifting the other, then to lean forward once more to move the circle into the target; and with each foot being measured, the entire foot mapping process is complete and the computer recommends an insert model.

Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts: A Product Review (3)

Why I Need Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts

I recall when Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts entered the market a few years ago. I have suffered with what I believe to be plantar fasciitis for many years, and the use of foot orthotics is recommended.

The foot pain that I experience is not common foot soreness. It is debilitating pain that has, at times, left my feet swollen and disfigured with me unable to walk. Mornings are worst: the first steps of the day are hell itself.

Recent work requires me to be on my feet all day, so I have been in constant pain with little time for recovery. This drove me to consider the custom inserts…once again. I had been ignoring them because I refused to pay the price-point. But pain has a way of changing your mind.

With my former work health insurance having ended, custom crafted orthotics were out of the question for me despite having a prescription in-hand. So I went to Walmart and used the kiosk, as I had done in the past. I already knew the recommended size for me (CF 440 for the tall or heavy) and it was the same. So I purchased the inserts and hoped that I had not wasted my money.

Important!

If you think you may be interested in purchasing Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts, make sure you visit the Dr. Scholl's website for a $10 rebate on purchases!

Custom Inserts: Did They Help?

I expected a break-in period but something was different this time. Yes, the inserts and arch support were noticeable, but it seemed that my feet were feeling better by the end of the first day. Still I was skeptical.

By the morning of Day Two, however, and throughout the workday and evening, all my foot pain had disappeared! I was stunned. In a single day years of pain were relieved. I was angry with myself for having gone so long when the remedy was waiting.

My full disclosure is that on my toughest workdays I still experience foot pain. But I find this is due to the harshness of work conditions and innate foot problems, not a failure in the inserts. I remain a satisfied user of Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts.

(Video) Dr Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotics Long Term Review

What Does Custom Fit Mean?

The Cradleflex Arch Support system makes the difference between these custom orthotics and most regular insoles/inserts that can be purchased in stores. Some podiatrists recommend only purchasing inserts that are a minimum of $50-$60 to have any significant improvement in foot care. I know this to be true now.

Scroll to Continue

Steph Curry Hosts the ESPYs
Friday Film Fest: Dan Aykroyd
How to Use the BAHTTEXT Function in Excel For Mac

Still, Dr. Scholl’s custom inserts are not as customized as having professional orthotic measurements taken of the feet, like those performed by an Amfit system. These procedures are inclusive of understanding foot structures and not merely foot pressure points and lengths. The foot measurements and impressions made with these technology are then specially crafted for a one-of-a-kind fit for respective customers.

Nevertheless, I am satisfied with my inserts. They are about as far as over-the-counter remedies will take me before requiring professional help. I highly recommend Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts to anyone with “tired achy feet”, heel issues, and any other foot ailments.

Cari on March 08, 2019:

I did the foot mapping and said 410, but they didnt have. Is a 310 interchangeable?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on April 23, 2016:

I know! Glad your pain is gone.

Judy on July 05, 2015:

I'm on my feet for 8 hours at a time without sitting. The foot pain was excruciating. After spending a fortunr on shoes I was told about Dr Scholls foot mapping. The inserts were a miracle. Best 50 dollars I have ever spent. NO PAIN.

jay on May 20, 2015:

(Video) Dr. Scholls Custom Orthotics Review

What is the differance between the 130 & 330. Is the 330 over 180 and the 130 under 180. That is what the test said

Kristen Howe from Northeast Ohio on May 07, 2015:

Great product review for those who need it. I'll keep it in mind for future reference, whenever I might need a pair of insoles. Voted up for useful!

jimmy on April 22, 2015:

Can you run in these and does that wear them out quicker.

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on April 04, 2015:

I'm not sure about a cleaning method. I never cleaned mine, but I didn't really need to the way you do. You may want to contact Dr. Scholl's and ask for their recommendation. If they're already getting wet, you might want to soak them in something like a baking soda solution or other and let them dry.

Stephanie on February 21, 2015:

Is there a way to clean the custom fit orthotics?

I work where my feet get wet often, and it doesn't take long for my custom fit orthotics to smell very bad. Is there a way to clean them without them falling apart?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on April 09, 2014:

Sorry about the delay...I guess you've figured it out by now. The orthotic slides in over your shoe insoles. Cheers.

ricky on March 17, 2014:

I bought the cf430 as recommended.my question is ,am I supposed to remove the full length insole that came with the shoe before inserting or leave them in the shoe?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on May 09, 2013:

Hi, Carolyn. I doubt a photocopy would be accepted. I can only encourage you to do your best to remove it. Try using a lighter or match: use it to warm the glue of the sticker. This always works for me; then place the sticker on a sheet of paper or the like. But I didn't have any problems, so hopefully all goes well for you. Thanks for reading!

carolyn on May 09, 2013:

I have a 10.00 rebate but, your product doesn't come in a box to be able to cut the UPC code out. It's just a piece of paper stuck on the plastic container and if you try to peel it off the UPC code will tear up. How am I suppose to get the UPC code off?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on December 28, 2012:

Hi Carol. Thanks for reading. Not sure of your question, but the insert will fit in any shoe. No need to buy a larger size. The orthotic will fit inside just about any shoe (with a covered heel); and assuming you have the right one, it will definitely bring you comfort and relief. Hope this helps!

carol on December 27, 2012:

(Video) Dr. Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts Review

I am a woman who works 10 hs on my feet, I really need to stop the pain I feel everyday. i want to know if I can insert Dr schols custm fit in any pais of shoes or I need to buy a bigger size. Thanks

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on November 29, 2012:

Thanks for reading, Mohammad. Not sure how to advise you on this. Perhaps when you two are out together and can visit a kiosk, he can get measured for one. I think this would be better than purchasing one that isn't built for his body type (then he might develop foot pain!) The machine measures by pressure points in the foot and weight. I appreciate your comment!

Mohammad on November 28, 2012:

Great article,

I would like to purchase one for my Dad as he has a pain in his knee. The problem is I don't know which size I could get him. is it by foot size? weight?

I tested for myself, it showed that I should use 230. My Dad is 11.5 shoe size and I would say less than 180 pounds.

any recommendations?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on August 11, 2012:

TJ, thanks for reading. I've heard a few people speak of variations with their suggested inserts. I never had that problem any time I tried. I'm not in the position to advise you on which number to choose. I do suggest, however, that you contact Dr. Scholl's Customer Care ([866] 360-3226) and speak with them directly. Further, there is a ton of info on their website from which you may be able to make an informed choice. Cheers.

tj on August 11, 2012:

When I got my foot mapping I did it twice, one said 110 the other said 120. Which one should I get?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on August 06, 2012:

Sp00k4, I contacted Customer Relations about your question. It is NOT advised that you place your inserts in the washer-dryer because they may warp. To clean use a very damp washcloth with a little soap and spot-clean, then allow to air-dry. Cheers!

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on August 03, 2012:

Excellent, Modmill! I attest to what you say: They are worth it. Thanks for commenting.

Modmill on August 03, 2012:

i have suffered for months with plantar fasciitis & heel spurs. i have bought so many inserts, had cortisone shots, wear a boot at night, etc. Everything gave a little bit of relief BUT...these babies are worth every cent !!! i am on day 3 of absolutely NO PAIN ! i wish to god i had tried them first. Do not let the $ 46 scare you off.

my only recommendation: do the foot mapping more than once. i got different readings. # 310 for my arches did the trick!

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on August 03, 2012:

Good question. I'll contact Customer Relations and get back to you.

(Video) Dr. Scholl's | How to wear Custom Fit Orthotics

sp00k4t4s0n on August 02, 2012:

they work very well I am on my feet all day for 7-8 hours 4 * some times 6 * a week and it works absolutely great but can you pit them in the washer?????

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on July 15, 2012:

That's okay. I'm sure everyone won't. I'm happy that they've given me relief.

Heel away.com on July 15, 2012:

Didn't like them that much. Im currently trying a product from heelaway.com it's half the price of the Dr S and can be worn in any shoe.

Recommended.

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on June 13, 2012:

The life expectancy is six months according to Dr. Scholl's Customer Relations.

laura on June 13, 2012:

They're great but when do they need to be replaced ?

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on June 06, 2012:

You know, I'm still happy with them. There is a real difference with my feet now. For me and my situation, I still have foot pain; but the recup time is drastically reduced and my feet don't reach the excruciating level as before. For someone without a condition like me (as with my sister), they would be greatly satisfied with them.

Stephanie Das from Miami, US on June 06, 2012:

Wow...I was always skeptical, because I figured a mass-produced product couldn't be that good...but now I'm willing to shell out the cash and give them a try.

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on April 06, 2012:

Oh, please tell me more about your custom orthotics. I would like to have some of those made. Expensive? Thanks for commenting!

Cynthia Calhoun from Western NC on April 06, 2012:

Cool! I wear the REALLY custom orthotics - the kind that the podiatrist makes. But, I wonder about having to get them re-covered every few years. I've often wondered about Dr. Scholl's. Hmm, I'll have to ask about this the next time I go. :) Votes and more.

Michael S (author) from Danville, VA on March 25, 2012:

I think they're worth a shot and hope they work for you, too. Thanks for your comment, Point2Make.

(Video) Another Quick Review Dr Scholls custom inserts How Custom are they really?

point2make on March 25, 2012:

I have been having problems for a while now and was wondering about the Dr Scholls inserts. Thanks for the info I'll give them a try. Good hub!

FAQs

Is Dr Scholls good? ›

Dr. Schneider says, "These insoles are certainly better and more supportive than their general off-the-shelf insoles, but not nearly as supportive as a custom device. It is not as reliable as a custom orthotic made from a mold of the foot by a podiatrist."

Do you remove insoles when using Dr Scholl orthotics? ›

Dr. Scholl's® insoles and orthotics can placed over a shoe's existing insole as long as the shoe is still comfortable and does not feel too tight.

How do you use Dr Scholl's Custom Fit Orthotics? ›

Dr. Scholl's | How to wear Custom Fit Orthotics - YouTube

How often should you replace Dr Scholls? ›

Under normal use, we expect the Orthotics to last from 6 months to a year. If you use the inserts frequently, we recommend replacing them every six months or at the first signs of wear.

Are Dr Scholl's good for your feet? ›

Scholl's has helped alleviate foot and lower body pain for years. This household name will not only prevent your feet from aching at the end of a long day, but can help alleviate the pain of pre-existing conditions.

Who owns Dr Scholls? ›

In July 2019, Bayer sold Dr. Scholl's to Yellow Wood Partners for $585 million. Yellow Wood established a new company Scholl's Wellness Company to run the brand.

Should you wear orthotics all the time? ›

Orthotics are like eyeglasses and meant to be worn indefinitely. Eyeglasses change the shape of light to allow one to see better. Orthotics change the way ground reactive forces hit the feet, to allow one to walk better. They work to support certain muscles and ligaments, so that there is not excess strain on them.

Can orthotics cause more problems? ›

Stress from orthotics can actually lead to weak ankles, feet or knees and cause additional foot pain. Furthermore, it's difficult to get relief from orthotic inserts that weren't made correctly. You may also suffer from sore muscles as your body attempts to adapt to the orthotics.

What is the difference between insoles and orthotics? ›

To summarise, an insole is a device to cushion and absorb shock whilst an orthotic is a device which can relive pain, redistribute pressure and restore natural foot function. If you think you may need orthotics make an appointment with your Podiatrist to discuss the correct orthotic prescription for you.

How long do orthotic insoles last? ›

While a typical custom orthotic might last around 2-3 years on average, not every case is a typical one. Some people need theirs replaced every year, while others can get 5 years or more (occasionally much more) of use out of theirs. In other words, it really is a case-by-case thing.

Can orthotics cause leg pain? ›

Some people develop discomfort in the foot, leg, or lower back when they first start to wear orthotics. This is normal and is due to a realignment of the whole lower extremity and pelvis. Muscles and ligaments have to readjust to this new alignment.

How do you keep Dr Scholl's inserts in place? ›

It can be frustrating to place some new insoles in your shoe only to find that they won't stay in place.
...
5 Tips To Get Your Insoles To Stay
  1. Buy the Correct Size and Type. AD. ...
  2. Cut Your Insole Precisely. What is this? ...
  3. Glue Your Insole. ...
  4. Use Thumbtacks. ...
  5. Double-Sided Tape.
Jun 13, 2021

What do the Dr Scholl's numbers mean? ›

Dr. Scholl's | The Science behind the Custom Fit Orthotics Kiosk - YouTube

How much do custom orthotic inserts cost? ›

Custom-made orthotics can cost anywhere from $200 to $800. Office visits and consultations can quickly add up to the total cost.

How do you clean Dr Scholls inserts? ›

Wash shoes and insoles with warm water and a mild detergent. Liquid laundry and dish detergent work great. Use a shoe brush or an old tooth brush to scrub off dirt and grime. Rinse shoes and insoles thoroughly and shake to eliminate excess water.

Are Dr Scholl's sneakers good for walking? ›

Dr Scholl's sneakers are great for walking, especially, for someone who is flat footed and overweight.

Are Dr Scholl's boots comfortable? ›

'These Are The Most Comfortable Boots I've Ever Worn—And They're On Sale Right Now' Dr. Scholl's makes comfortable shoes that look great. For real.

Are Dr Scholl's sneakers good for plantar fasciitis? ›

A cushy insole and arch support are essential to ease heel pain, inflammation and overall discomfort. And according to hundreds of Zappos shoppers, Dr. Scholl's Madison sneakers are a dream for those with plantar fasciitis who want comfort and style.

Are Dr Scholl's sandals comfortable? ›

I have never owned a pair of original exercise sandals from Dr. Scholl's before, so when I tried them on, I was happy how comfortable they were despite the wooden platform. They are adjustable to fit wide feet such as my own, and the arch support is comfortable as well.

After we started getting questions from patients, we visited a Seattle pharmacy to evaluate the orthotic center and the “custom fit orthotics” that cost consumers big bucks.. We evaluated all 14 orthotics the kiosk offers and found that while there are some shape differences in the different arch supports, they are so flexible that they collapse completely with a little hand pressure.. We compared the $50 “custom fit” orthotics from the Foot Mapping kiosk to the standard Dr. Scholl’s arch supports sold in the foot care aisle.. To do this the orthotic must have some rigidity in order to transfer pressure from the ball of the foot to the arch of the foot.. For $50 there are much more supportive arch supports on the market.. Over-the-counter arch supports can in no way be considered customized to your feet – no matter how many machines you stand on or what you’re promised Dr. Scholl’s marketing.. FootChair Podiatrist Designed Orthotic – The most supportive OTC support we have found.. This arch support was designed by podiatrists who specialize in orthotic therapy and incorporates many features that previously were only found in custom orthotics.. All of these are more supportive than the Dr. Scholl’s arch supports at lower cost.. The FootChair Podiatrist Designed Orthotic costs a few dollars more more than Dr. Scholl’s but is the most stable prefabricated orthotic we have found.. If you want orthotics truly customized to your feet that will address your specific foot issues, The Foot and Ankle Center can help.

Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts, CF 110 Review. I have always been the person who is on their feet all day long and needs a good pair of shoes that can accommodate my need for comfort while I am working.. Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts are designed to move from shoe to shoe, so you can have the perfect fit for every occasion and activity.. With its three different sizes and fit options, there’s a shoe insert that will work for any foot shape or size (8-13).. What makes these inserts stand out is their lack of trimming required—just slip them in without having to adjust anything.. Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts, CF 110 come in different sizes so you can find the perfect fit for your foot and lower leg.. The Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Insert has a patented design with an anatomical heel cup which keeps the back of your ankle stable while walking, allowing it to absorb shock better than traditional inserts by protecting against overstretching at the soft tissues within this sensitive area – thus reducing pain levels dramatically during activities such as walking... With the Custom Fit Orthotic Insert by Dr. Scholl’s, you can feel the pain relief instantly with five different levels of support and a variety of sizes to fit most feet.. The orthotics are made from a flexible material that conforms to your foot as it moves while providing lower body pain relief all day long. The Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Inserts also come in three different levels of firmness which is ideal for those who need more support in their shoes due to plantar fasciitis or other foot pain issues.,. The Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts, CF 110 are medically designed insoles that can provide the needed support for your feet and ankles.. If you are looking for a pair of insoles that can fit your feet perfectly and provide the comfort, support and stability to improve your posture and overall health, these Dr. Scholl’s Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts offer just that.. A: Dr Scholls Custom Fit Orthotics are a type of orthotic device that is designed to provide support and comfort for your foot.. How long do Dr Scholls Custom Fit Orthotics last?. A: Dr Scholls Custom Fit Orthotics are meant to be worn for a few hours at a time.

Dr. Scholl’s FootMapping is a kiosk that is located in stores and is supposed to tell you which parts of your feet take the most abuse and then recommend the proper inserts based on your unique make-up.. These systems or “kiosks” then provide you with a report that recommends which Dr. Scholl’s custom orthotic insert is right for you.. Since Dr. Scholl’s Custom Orthotics is such a well known and popular brand, most stores that carry them also now have a Dr. Scholl’s FootMapping kiosk onsite.. Also, you can do an internet search for “dr Scholl’s custom orthotics kiosk near me”, and you should be provided with a list of stores near you where you can find a kiosk.. These things can make even simple tasks seem like a huge burden so having the right orthotic would be a huge benefit, and the Dr. Scholl’s FootMapping kiosk can certainly help to identify the correct orthotic for you.. Youtube Dr. Scholl’s FootMapping approach has been created to give a customized orthotic insert recommendation after you stand on the kiosk platform for the specified time.. This would seem to indicate their faith in the accuracy of their FootMapping technology, and their recommended product, which they are then hoping translates into customer satisfaction and widespread recommendations from current users to any number of potential new customers.. The only time a cost is incurred is when you decide to accept the recommendation that has been provided to you and actually purchase the custom orthotics that have been recommended to you.

Dr Scholls Inserts Vs Good Feet Store Plantar fasciitis, also known as heel spur syndrome, occurs when the outer sole of the foot becomes inflamed due to excessive stress.. There are many different ways you can treat heel pain symptoms and help reduce pain.. The inflammation that occurs is one of the most common symptoms of plantar fasciitis.. The usual way to treat this condition is with custom orthotic inserts that are shaped to fit the arches of the foot and are often cushioned in order to relieve pressure and inflammation.. An alternative to using custom orthotic inserts to treat plantar fasciitis is with custom shoe-insole cushion.. Heel cushions or arch support insoles are another way to alleviate the pain and discomfort associated with plantar fasciitis.. A custom shoe orthotic can help an old insole become more comfortable and improve walking posture.. Custom shoe insole also helps people suffering from plantar pressure.. Arch supports are another type of shoe inserts that correct flat arches.. Arch support insoles are made of a flexible material and are inserted under the arch.

The Dr. Scholl’s Work Massaging Gel insole is designed to provide relief and comfort to individuals who are on their feet most of the day.. They are available in one size fits all for women and one size fits all for men.. The Dr. Scholl’s Work Massaging Gel insole features moderate arch support.. Many comparable insoles for plantar fasciitis have rigid arch support, but this Dr. Scholl’s insert offers at best a semi-rigid arch support.. What’s more, it can also reduce muscle fatigue which many workers deal with, which makes it somewhat comparable to the Timberland Pro Anti Fatigue insole.. However, its responsive wave cushioning does run all the way to the heel area to provide all-day cushioning and shock absorption, especially when walking on hard surfaces.. The low profile of the Massaging Gel insole ensures they fit well into most shoes.. 9 Best Shoe Inserts For Heel Pain. The Work Massaging Gel insole is not designed for individuals who suffer from plantar fasciitis, as it has less of an arch support than most prefer.

Videos

1. Dr Scholl's CF330 & CF340 Custom Fit Orthotic Inserts Review
(Glenn's Fast Reviews)
2. FINAL REVIEW ON DR. SCHOLL'S CUSTOM FIT ORTHOTICS INSERTS
(JoSoFab's Chocolate World)
3. Dr scholls Custom Fit Orthotics
(juliop101)
4. Dr. Scholl's | How the Custom Fit Orthotics Kiosk Works (Demo)
(Dr. Scholl's)
5. Dr Scholls orthotic inserts
(The natural products show By this guy)
6. Paris Travel blogger tip: Dr. Scholl's custom fit orthotic inserts
(The Paris Itinerary)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Catherine Tremblay

Last Updated: 05/16/2022

Views: 5824

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (67 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Catherine Tremblay

Birthday: 1999-09-23

Address: Suite 461 73643 Sherril Loaf, Dickinsonland, AZ 47941-2379

Phone: +2678139151039

Job: International Administration Supervisor

Hobby: Dowsing, Snowboarding, Rowing, Beekeeping, Calligraphy, Shooting, Air sports

Introduction: My name is Catherine Tremblay, I am a precious, perfect, tasty, enthusiastic, inexpensive, vast, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.